## MINUTES OF THE MEETING

The 8<sup>th</sup> Annual General Body Meeting of the Indian Academy of Biomedical Sciences was held on 26<sup>th</sup> February 2019 at 6.00 p.m., at National Institute For Interdisciplinary Science And Technology (CSIR–NIIST) Thiruvananthapuram (Kerala) in which the following members were present:

- 1. Prof. Hariom Sharma, Bhavnagar- In the chair
- 2. Prof. Hari S. Sharma, Founder President
- 3. Prof. Abbas Ali Mahdi, Lucknow- Secretary
- 4. Prof. Vijay K. Kutala, Hyderabad
- 5. Dr. Nibhriti Das, New Delhi
- 6. Dr. K.G. Raghu, Trivendaram
- 7. Dr. B.S. Shankarnarayana Rao, Bangalore
- 8. Dr. M. Kaleem Ahmad, Lucknow
- 9. Dr. Gyanendra K. Sonkar, Lucknow
- 10. Dr. Dilutpal Sharma, Lucknow
- 11. Dr. Shivani Pandey, Lucknow
- 12. Dr. Israr Ahmad, Lucknow
- 13. Dr. Tabrez Jafar, Lucknow
- 14. Dr. Shashikant Nikam, Belagavi (Belgaum)
- 15. Dr. Yasir Hasan Siddiqui, Aligarh
- 16. Dr. Pratap Jagtap, Sangli

- 17. Dr. Bipin Tiwale, Kolhapur
- 18. Dr. Z. G. Badade, Mumbai
- 19. Dr. Mrinal R. Srivastava, Lucknow
- 20. Dr. Anu Chandra, Lucknow
- 21. Dr. Vishnu Kumar, Lucknow
- 22. Prof. Sundram Ravikumar
- 23. Dr. Shyam Prakas, New Delhi
- 24. Dr. Snehasikta Swarnakar, Kolkata
- 25. Dr. Sukesh Mukherjee
- 26. Dr. Jyotdeep Kaur, Chandigarh
- 27. Dr. Arun Raizada, Lucknow
- 28. Dr. S P Saxena, Lucknow
- 29. Dr. Syed Mudassar, Srinagar
- 30. Dr. Raza Abbas Mahdi, Lucknow
- 31. Dr. Farzana Mahdi, Lucknow
- The meeting was called in order and Prof. Hariom Sharma welcomed the Hon'ble members to the 8<sup>th</sup> Annual General Body meeting. He said that the Academy has made commendable progress during last few years due to the concerted efforts of the members. He complimented Dr. Dr. K.G. Raghu for organizing an excellent meeting.
- 2. The minutes of the 7<sup>th</sup> Annual Meeting of the Academy held on 21st April 2018 at 6.30 at Nageen Club, Srinagar (Jammu & Kashmir) were presented. Dr. B.S. Shankarnarayana Rao proposed that they may be accepted and confirmed, his proposal was seconded by Prof. Vijay K. Kutala and Prof. S.P. Saxena. The minutes were thereafter unanimously approved and confirmed by the members.
- 3. Prof. Hari Sharma, the Founder President, in his remarks appreciated the progress made by the Academy and expressed satisfaction with regard to the growth achieved during last few years

- 4. Secretary General in his report presented the following points:
- a) Prof. Mahdi informed the Hon'ble Members that since the last Annual meeting held at Srinagar in April 2018, thirty five (35) new life members have joined the Academy. Now total life members are 249 (as of 26<sup>th</sup> February 2019).
- b) He also informed the Hon'ble members that in the current year under report quite a large number of applications were received for various Academy Awards. He further stated that as usual the applications were initially screened by a committee and thereafter processed by the award committee and the recommendations of the awards committee were unanimously approved by the core committee.
- c) Secretary informed that as decided last year the fee collected from the members has been kept as fixed deposit in the name of the Academy and the exact amount the Treasurer will be informing in her report. He further took the opinion of the Hon'ble members with regard to keeping some money as RBI Bonds. Members unanimously authorized the Secretary General and Treasurer to take this matter with the CA and do the needful in academy interest.
- 5. Treasurer presented the financial statement and balance sheets of the Academy for the year 2018-20119. It was unanimously approved by the members.
- 6. Prof Hari Sharma proposed the following as office bears of the Academy for the year 2019-2020. He further stated that it will be better if the Organizing Secretary be elected as President Elect for the subsequent years, instead of being the Senior Vice President. The proposal was unanimously approved by the members and the members unanimously elected the following new office bearers of the Academy for the year 2019-2020

President:	Prof. Syed Mudassar, Srinagar
President – Elect:	Dr. KG Raghu, Thiruvananthapuram
Vice President(s):	Dr. Amarjit Singh Bhatia, Jammu
Secretary General:	Prof. Abbas Ali Mahdi, Lucknow
Treasurer:	Dr. Ranjana Singh, Lucknow
Organizing Secretary, IABSCON 2020:	Dr. Bipin Tiwale, Kolhapur
<b>Chairperson Awards/Fellowship Committee:</b> Members:	Prof. Hari S. Sharma, Netherlands Prof. Najmul Islam, Aligarh Prof. Vijay Kumar Kutala, Hyderabad

Chairperson Corporate Wing Members:	Dr. Arun Raizada, Lucknow Dr. Shyam Singh, New Delhi Dr. Aditi Gupta, Gurgaon
Chairperson Publications Committee: Members:	Prof. Khursheed Alam, Aligarh Dr. Aaliya Shah, Srinagar Dr. Tabrez Jafar, Lucknow
North Zone Secretary:	Prof. Seema Bhargava, New Delhi
Members:	Prof. Ramesh Chandra, New Delhi
	Prof. Manu Rathee, Rohtak
	Prof. Eliza Chakraborty, Meerut
Central Zone Secretary:	Prof. Moinuddin, Aligarh
Members:	Dr. Beenu, Allahabad
	Dr. Sukhes Mukherjee, Bhopal
	Prof. Haider Abbas, Lucknow
East Zone Secretary:	Prof. Subir K. Das, Kalyani
Members:	Dr. Sikta Swarnkar, Kolkata
	Prof. Sadhna Sharma, Patna
	Prof. Kailash Bhattacharya, Gwahati
South Zone Secretary:	Dr. Mehda Rajappa, Puducheri
Members:	Prof. K.G. Raghu, Thiruvananthapuram
	Dr. Guru Prakash, Kerala
	Dr. B.S.S. Rao, Bengaluru
West Zone Secretary:	Prof. Jigna Shah, Bhavnagar
Members:	Dr. Sandeep Tripathi, Jaipur
	Prof. Vinay Rale, Pune
	Dr. Tejas Shah, Baroda
	Dr. Bipin Tiwale, Kolhapur

7. At the end of the meeting the outgoing President, Prof. Syed Mudassar handed over the charge to the incoming President Prof. KG Raghu. Members put on record the contributions made by Prof. Mudassar. Thereafter, Prof KG Raghu Sharma thanked the

members for electing him as President and said that he will try to work to the best of his ability for further upliftment of the Academy by taking all members along. He said that he will need help guidance and support from all the members to achieve the objectives. Meeting ended with a vote of thanks to the chair.

Prof. Abbas Ali Mahdi Secretary – General Prof. KG Raghu President