Minutes of the meeting

The 10th Annual General Body Meeting of the Indian Academy of Biomedical Sciences was held on 11.09.2021 at 5.00 p.m., on online platform, in which the following members were present:

- 1. Dr. K.G. Raghu, President in the chair
- 2. Prof. Hari S. Sharma, Founder President
- 3. Prof. Abbas Ali Mahdi, Secretary General
- 4. Prof. Bipin M. Tiwale, Kolhapur
- 5. Prof. Thuppil Venkatesh, Bengaluru
- 6. Prof. Savita Yadav, New Delhi
- 7. Prof. Alpana Sharma, New Delhi
- 8. Dr. Vijay K Kutala, Hyderabad
- 9. Prof. Khurseed Alam, Aligarh
- 10. Prof. Moinuddin, Aligarh
- 11. Dr. Megha Rajjapa, Puducherry
- 12. Dr. Shivani Pandey, Lucknow
- 13. Dr. Ranjana Singh, Lucknow
- 14. Dr. Israr Ahmad, Lucknow
- President Dr. K.G. Raghu welcomed the Hon'ble members at the 10th Annual General Body Meeting of the Academy. He expressed his satisfaction at the steady progress of the Academy during last few years.
- 2. Prof. Abbas Ali Mahdi informed the Hon'ble members about the demise of Prof. K.K. Srivastava (New Delhi) and Dr. Arun Raizada, (Lucknow), ex-President of the Academy. Members mourned the sad demise and put on record the exemplary contributions of Dr. Srivastava and Dr. Raizada in the growth of the Academy. Members also observed a few minutes silence in memory of the departed souls. It was decided that a letter on behalf of the Academy will be sent to the family members of the deceased members.
- 3. The minutes of the Ninth Annual Meeting of the Academy held at Kolhapur, Maharashtra, on 27.02.2020 at 6.00 p.m., we read and confirmed.

- **4.** Prof. Hari Sharma, the Founder President, in his remarks appreciated the progress made by the Academy and expressed satisfaction with regard to the growth achieved during last few years.
- 5. Secretary General in his report briefed the Hon'ble members about the progress made by the academy during the year under report:
 - a) Since Kolhapur meeting, 27 (Twenty seven) new life members have joined the Academy.
 Now total life members are 314 (till date).
 - b) He also informed the Hon'ble members that in the current year under report quite a large number of applications were received for various Academy Awards. He further stated that as usual the applications were initially screened by a committee and thereafter processed by the award committee and the recommendations of the awards committee were unanimously approved by the core committee. He informed the Hon'ble members that the recipients of the various Academy Awards for the year 2020 are as follows:
 - 1) Padma Shri Prof. Mahdi Hasan Award. Prof. Balram Bhargava, (DG-ICMR, New Delhi)
 - 2) Prof. Sohail Ahmad Award. Prof. Asad U Khan(Aligarh)
 - 3) Smt. Kusum Sharma Award.: Dr. Sushmita Jha (Jodhpur)
 - 4) Shri. Om Prakash Sharma. Dr. Sanjay K Banerji (Guwahati)
 - 5) Mrs. Farha Deeba Haq Award. Dr. Amit Kunwar (Mumbai)
 - 6) Mrs. Abida Mahdi Award. Dr. Prasunpriya Nayak (Jodhpur)
 - 7) Life Time Achievement Award. Dr. Arun Raizada (Lucknow)- (Posthumous)

Fellowship:

- Padam Shri Prof. Syed Ehtesham Hasnain, IIT, New Delhi(Honorary Fellow)
- 2) Padam Shri Prof. K.K Agrawal, New Delhi(Honorary Fellow)
- 3) Padam Shri Prof. Balram Bhargava, DG-ICMR, New Delhi(Honorary Fellow)
- 4) Prof. Savita Yadav, Department of Biophysics, AIIMS, New Delhi
- 5) Prof. Ajai Singh, Department of Pediatric Orthopedics Surgery, KGMU, Lucknow.
- 6) Prof. Jyotdeep Kaur, Department of Biochemistry, PGI, Chandigarh

- 7) Prof. Rima Dada, Department of Anatomy, AIIMS, New Delhi
- 8) Prof. Satyavati Rana, Department of Biochemistry, AIIMS, Rishikesh
- Prof. Suman Kundu, Department of Biochemistry, University of Delhi.
 New Delhi
- 10) Prof. K.G. Raghu, CSIR- NIIST, Trivandrum
- 11) Prof. Farzana Mahdi, Era University, Lucknow

Members appreciated the efforts made by the Academy in appropriately recognizing the talent and approved the recommendations of the awards committee.

- c) As decided last year the fee collected from the members has been kept as fixed deposit in the name of the Academy. Prof. Abbas Ali Mahdi suggested some money can be invested in mutual funds for better profit and all members mutually agreed. After detailed deliberations it was resolved that the Academy shall invest in Mutual Funds for extra benefits, whenever it shall be considerable for such investments. Further it was resolved that Dr. Abbas Ali Mahdi, Secretary General and Dr. Ranjana Singh, Treasurer, shall be jointly the authorized signatories on behalf of the Academy.
- d) Treasurer presented the financial statement and balance sheets of the Academy for the year 2020-2021. It was unanimously approved by the members.
- e) After last year Annual Conference at Kolhapur three events under the aegis of the Academy were organized, they were as under:
 - 1. Mizoram University, Mizoram
 - 2. Cotton University, Gawhati
 - 3. C.S.M. Kanpur University, Kanpur
- f) Prof. Thuppil Venkatesh suggested the Academy may try to collaborate with Rajiv Gandhi University of Health Sciences and other universities and societies to organize one or half day webinar/symposium, so that academic activities under the aegis of the Academy may be promoted. Prof. Vijay K Kutala suggested that we can be also collaborate with research institutesin this regard. Prof. Venkatesh also suggested that we may approach the Association of Healthcare Providers (India) through its Director General, Dr. Girdhar Gyani, who happens to be one of our National Advisers, and organize our meetings in association with AHPI and in that way we may

attract more clinicians and that is what one of the objectives of our Academy is. Members welcomed

the suggestion and authorized the President, Secretary General and Prof. Venkatesh to do the

needful in this regard. During the discussions a suggestion came from Prof. Alpana Sharma and Prof.

Savita Yadav, that a lecture series can also be organized under the aegis of the Academy. Members

in general agreed with the suggestions and it was resolved that feasibilities will be looked into and

events will be organized as and when possible.

g) Prof. Moinuddin suggested that a member be designated as Webinar Coordinator for conducting

webinar/online lecture series. The proposal was unanimously approved by the members.

h) It was observed that due to Covid – 19 pandemic regular meeting of the Academy could not be

organized therefore the election of new office bearers could not take place. After detailed

deliberations it was unanimously resolved that the term of office bears be extended till the next

meeting of the Academy.

6. Any other matter with the permission of the chair:

a) Prof. Thuppil Venkatesh suggested that YouTube channel and social media page of the

Academy may be created to promote the Academy. Members appreciated the suggestion and it

was decided that the suggestion be implemented.

b) Prof. Abbas Ali Mahdi said that if the Covid – 19 pandemic conditions gets better then he will try

to organize the next meeting of the Academy in November/December 2021 at Lucknow.

Members unanimously approved the proposal.

Meeting ended with a vote of thanks to the chair.

Date: 10/9/2021

(Prof. Abbas Ali Mahdi) Secretary – General

Indian Academy of Biomedical Sciences