## **MINUTES OF MEETING**

## INDIAN ACADEMY OF BIOMEDICAL SCIENCES (IABS)

## MINUTES OF THE 11th ANNUAL GENERAL BODY MEETING HELD ON 08.05.2022 at 11.0 AM

# Venue: Board Room, Era University, Lucknow

#### Members Present:

- 1. Dr. K.G, Raghu, Thiruananthapuram, President in the chair
- 2. Prof. Hari S. Sharma, Founder President
- 3. Prof. Bipin M, Tiwale, Kolhapur
- 4. Prof. Abbas Ali Mahdi, Secretary General, Lucknow
- 5. Prof. Najmul Islam, Aligarh
- 6. Prof. Moinuddin, Aligarh
- 7. Dr. Thuppil Venkatesh, Bangalore
- 8. Dr. A.S. Bhatia, Jammu
- 9. Dr. Vijay Kumar Kutala, Hyderabad
- 10. Prof. Jyotdep Kaur, Chandigarh
- 11. Prof. Sadhna Sharma, Chandigarh
- 12. Prof. Indu Verma, Chandigarh
- 13. Dr. Sukesh Mukerjee, Bhopal
- 14. Prof. Sashikant Nikam, Belgavi
- 15. Prof. Nibhirti Das, Lucknow
- 16. Prof. Farzana Mahdi, Lucknow
- 17. Prof. Seema Bhargava, New Delhi
- 18. Dr. Priya S, Thiruananthapuram
- 19. Dr. Medha R, Pondicherry
- 20. Prof. Alpana Sharma, New Delhi
- 21. Prof. Sadhana Sharma, Patna
- 22. Dr. Kamlakant Shukla, Jodhpur
- 23. Prof. BSS Rao, Bangalore
- 24. Dr. Brijesh Rathore, Lucknow
- 25. Dr. Israr Ahmad Lucknow
- 26. Dr. M. Kaleem Ahmad, Lucknow

- 27. Dr. Tabrez Jafar, Lucknow
- 28. Dr. Amit, Kunwar, Mumbai
- 29. Dr. Soobia Karim Ansari, Pryagraj
- 30. Dr. Kalpana Singh, Lucknow
- 31. Dr. Dilutpal Sharma, Lucknow
- 32. Dr. Shivani Pandey, Lucknow
- 33. Dr. Navin Singh, Lucknow
- 34. Prof. RK Dixit, Lucknow
- 35. Dr. Ghizal Fatima, Lucknow
- 36. Prof. RK Garg, Lucknow
- 37. Prof. S. Tasleem Raza, Lucknow
- 38. Dr. Shweta Kumari, Lucknow
- 39. Dr. Amit Mani Tiwari, Lucknow
- The meeting was called in order and Dr. KG Raghu welcomed the Hon'ble members to the 11<sup>th</sup>
   Annual General Body meeting. He said that the Academy has made commendable progress during
   last few years due to the concerted efforts of the members. He complimented Prof. Abbas Ali
   Mahdi for organizing an excellent meeting.
- 2. The minutes of the 10<sup>th</sup> Annual Meeting of the Academy held on 11.09.2021 at 5.00 p.m., on online platformt were presented. Prof. Abbas Ali Mahdi proposed that they may be accepted and confirmed, his proposal was seconded by Prof. A.S. Bhatia and Prof. Alpana Sharma. The minutes were thereafter unanimously approved and confirmed by the members.
- 3. Prof. Hari Sharma, the Founder President, in his remarks appreciated the progress made by the Academy and expressed satisfaction with regard to the growth achieved during last few years.
- 4. Secretary General in his report briefed the Hon'ble members about the progress made by the academy during the year under report.
  - a) He informed the Hon'ble members that since last general body meeting, 20 (Twenty) new life members have joined the Academy. Now total life members are 335 (till date).
  - b) He also informed the Hon'ble members that in the current year under report quite a large number of applications were received for various Academy Awards. He further stated that as usual the applications were initially screened by a committee and thereafter processed by the award committee and the recommendations of the awards committee were

unanimously approved by the core committee. He informed the Hon'ble members that the recipients of the various Academy Awards for the year 2021 are as follows:

- 1) Padma Shri Prof. Mahdi Hasan Award: Dr. Ashok Seth, (Chairman- Fortis Hospital, New Delhi)
- 2) Prof. Sohail Ahmad Award: Prof. Alpana Sharma (AIIMS, New Delhi)
- 3) Smt. Kusum Sharma Award: Dr. Pallabi Mitra (Hyderabad)
- 4) Shri. Om Prakash Sharma: Dr. Kamlakant Shukla (Jodhpur)
- 5) Mrs. Farha Deeba Haq Award: Dr. Aliya Shah, SKIMS (Srinagar)
- 6) Mrs. Abida Mahdi Award: Prof. Saurabh Varshney (Deogarh)
- 7) Lifetime Achievement Award: Dr. DK Gupta, New Delhi

### Fellowship:

- 1. Prof. NS Verma (Lucknow
- 2. Prof. Ashutosh Halder (New Delhi)
- 3. Prof. Sadhna Sharma (Chandigarh
- 4. Prof. B.S. Shankaranarayana Rao (Bengaluru)
- 5. Dr. Ashok Seth (New Delhi)
- 6. Prof. Shahid Jameel (Sonipat)

Members appreciated the efforts made by the Academy in appropriately recognizing the talent and approved the recommendations of the awards committee.

- c) As decided last year the fee collected from the members has been kept as fixed deposit in the name of the Academy. Prof. Abbas Ali Mahdi suggested some money can be invested in mutual funds for better profit and all members mutually agreed. After detailed deliberations it was resolved that the Academy shall invest in Mutual Funds for extra benefits, whenever it shall be considerable for such investments. Further it was resolved that Dr. Abbas Ali Mahdi, Secretary General and Dr. Ranjana Singh, Treasurer, shall be jointly the authorized signatories on behalf of the Academy.
- d) Treasurer presented the financial statement and balance sheets of the Academy for the year 2021-2022.
  It was unanimously approved by the members.
  - e) After last year Annual Conference at Kolhapur three events and one online lecture under the aegis of the Academy were organized, they were as under:

1. Mizoram University, Mizoram

2. Cotton University, Gawhati

3. C.S.M. Kanpur University, Kanpur

4. Dr. Marco G. Alves (University of Porto, Portugal)

5. After detailed deliberations it was decided that the 11th Annual Meeting of the Academy in the year 2023

will be held at NIMHANS, Bengaluru. Prof. B.S.S. Rao offered to organize the 11th Annual Meeting at

NIMHANS. Members unanimously welcomed the proposals and approved the same.

6. At the end of the meeting Dr. KG Raghu handed over the charge of President IABS to Prof. Bipin M.

Tiwale. Members congratulated Prof. Tiwale and put on record the services rendered by Dr. Raghu in

promoting the Academy and for introducing large number of new Life Members of the Academy.

7. Prof. Tiwale assumed the charge as President, IABS and thanked the Hon'ble members for electing

him President and sought cooperation from all to take the Academy to newer heights. Meeting ended

with a vote of thanks to the chair.

(Prof. Abbas Ali Mahdi)

Secretary - General, IABS

(Prof. Bipin M Tiwale)

BL

President, IABS