

## INDIAN ACADEMY OF BIOMEDICAL SCIENCES

(Registration No. 2826-2011-2012, Under the Societies Registration Act-1860)

website: www.iabs.in

Date: 2<sup>nd</sup> April 2022

#### NOTICE

The Indian Academy of Biomedical Sciences (Regd.) is pleased to announce the names of the Academy Award winners for the year 2021. The Awards/Fellowships will be presented at the X<sup>th</sup> Annual Meeting of the Academy to be held at Lucknow on 7<sup>th</sup> May 2022 at 7:00 pm (details will be posted shortly). Names of the recipients are as follows:-

**1. Padma Shri Prof. Mahdi Hasan** Award for an eminent Scientist who has made outstanding contributions in Biomedical Sciences especially in Clinical Research.

This Award was instituted out of an endowment made by Prof. Abbas Ali Mahdi, to commemorate the memory of his father late Padma Shri Professor Mahdi Hasan, an Eminent Medical Teacher & Scientist and Founder Patron of the Academy (Former Principal/Dean/Director, J.N. Medical College, AMU, Aligarh).

Recipient: Dr. Ashok Seth

Chairman, Cardiac Science

Fortis Escorts Heart Institute, New Delhi

**2. Prof. Sohail Ahmad Award** for an eminent Scientist who has made outstanding contributions in Biomedical Sciences especially in Basic Research.

This award was instituted out of an endowment made by Prof. Shad Bano Ahmad, to commemorate the memory of her husband late Professor Sohail Ahmad, an Eminent Medical Scientist (Former Professor & Chairman, Department of Microbiology, J.N. Medical College, AMU, Aligarh).

Recipient: Prof. Alpana Sharma

Department of Biochemistry

AIIMS, New Delhi

**3.** Smt. Kusum Sharma Award for a Young Woman Scientist who has made outstanding contributions in Biomedical Research (age: below 40 years, as on 1st January of the year of conference).

This Award was instituted out of an endowment made by Dr. Belu Sharma to commemorate the memory of her mother late Smt. Kusum Sharma, a thorough gentle and affectionate lady.

Recipient: Dr. Pallabi Mitra

DST INSPIRE Faculty
Department of Animal Biology
University of Hyderabad

Hyderabad



## INDIAN ACADEMY OF BIOMEDICAL SCIENCES

(Registration No. 2826-2011-2012, Under the Societies Registration Act-1860)

website: www.iabs.in

**4. Shri. Om Prakash Sharma Award** for a Young Scientist who has made outstanding contributions in Biomedical Research (age: below 45 years, as on 1st January of the year of conference).

The Award was instituted out of an endowment made by Prof. Alpana Sharma to commemorate the memory of her father late Shri O.P. Sharma.

Recipient: Dr. Kamla Kant Shukla

Associate Professor

Department of Biochemistry

AIIMS, Jodhpur

**5. Mrs. Farha Deeba Haq Award** for a Young Scientist who has made outstanding contributions in the field of Cancer Research (age: below 45 years, as on 1st January of the year of conference).

The Award was instituted out of an endowment made by Dr. Afrozul Haq to commemorate the memory of his wife late Mrs. Farah Deeba.

Recipient: Dr. Aaliya Shah

**Assistant Professor** 

Department of Biochemistry

SKIMS Medical College, Srinagar

**6. Mrs. Abida Mahdi Award** for a Scientist who has made outstanding contributions in the field of Neurosciences.

The Award was instituted out of an endowment made by Prof. Farzana Mahdi to commemorate the memory of her mother-in-law late Mrs. Abida Mahdi.

Recipient: Prof. Saurabh Varshney

Director, AIIMS

Deoghar, Jharkhand

**7. Life Time Achievement Award** for an eminent Scientist who has made outstanding contributions in Biomedical Sciences.

This Award was instituted out of an endowment made by Prof. Thuppil Venkatesh (ex-Professor & Head, Department of Biochemistry, St. John's Medical College, Bangalore).

**Recipient:** Prof. D.K. Gupta, former VC, KGMU, Lucknow

Ex-Director, PGICH, Noida

Secretary General-NAMS, New Delhi



# INDIAN ACADEMY OF BIOMEDICAL SCIENCES

(Registration No. 2826-2011-2012, Under the Societies Registration Act-1860)

website: www.iabs.in

#### Fellowships:

- 1. Prof. N.S. Verma, Department of Physiology, KG Medical University, Lucknow.
- 2. Prof. Ashutosh Halder, Department of Reproductive Biology, AIIMS Delhi.
- 3. Prof. Sadhna Sharma, Department of Biochemistry PGIMER, Chandigarh.
- 4. Prof. B.S. Shankaranarayana Rao, NIMHANS, Bengaluru.
- 5. Dr. Ashok Seth, Fortis Escorts Heart Institute, New Delhi.
- 6. Prof. Shahid Jameel, Ashoka University, Sonipat, Haryana 131029

Dr. KG Raghu

President

Prof. Hari S Sharma

Chairman, Award committee